The Flora Nwapa Prize for Feminist Writing 2021 | $1000 Prize

👤 For (Open to): Writers & Poets
🕡 Deadline: May 01, 2021 (See all deadlines)
🔔 Set Reminder: Google Calender or iCAL
📋 Relevant Links: Literary Contests,
📌 RSS Feed: Subscribe to Literary Contests
❓ Help: Chat with an Agent

The Flora Nwapa Prize for Feminist Writing is an annual award for the best unpublished work of fiction or non-fiction written in English by any writer with a feminist theme.

Established in 2020 by Onyeka Nwelue, a Nigerian writer and multi-art specialist, the prize seeks to reward the best  unpublished full-length work of fiction or non-fiction written in English with a feminist theme, in honor of Flora Nwapa, Africa’s first female novelist, who considered her work ‘womanist.’

The winner receives $1000 and the prize is run by the Flora Nwapa Foundation and Tana Press.

Requirements and Guidelines

  1. The Flora Nwapa Prize for Feminist Writing is worth $1000 to the winner. The Prize is awarded by a panel of judges appointed each year by The Flora Nwapa Foundation.
  2. The Prize is awarded annually for the best first unpublished full-length work of fiction or non-fiction written in English with a feminist theme.
  3. The winner of the Prize will be selected from a long list of ten titles, followed by a shortlist of three outstanding manuscripts submitted for the prize.

Conditions of the Prize

  1. Any eligible manuscript which is entered for the Prize will only qualify if they meet the criteria for submission and it satisfies the conditions set out in the rules.
  2. The winning author will be signed to World Arts Agency if they do not have an agent.
  3. Each shortlisted author will be invited to attend the Prize ceremony.
  4. The curators reserve the right to vary the Rules and Conditions of Entry and may also alter the published program without prior notice as necessary.

Entry of Books

  1. Writers may enter up to two unpublished full-length manuscripts.
  2. Entry forms must be submitted by May 1st, 2021 to
  3. The Flora Nwapa Foundation will acknowledge every entry.

Eligible Entries

  • Any full-length unpublished manuscript of fiction or non-fiction with a feminist theme is eligible.
  • Authors must be living at the time of submission.
  • Only manuscripts in English are eligible.
  • The decision of the Judges shall be binding and final.
  • All submissions are made on a confidential basis.
  1. A long list of ten titles will be announced on July 1st, 2021.
  2. A shortlist of three titles will be announced on August 1st, 2021.
  3. The winner will be announced on October 16, 2021. (Flora Nwapa died on October 16, 1993).

The Jury

  1. Aduke Gomez (Chair)
  2. Innocent Mutanga
  3. Teri Sillo

How to Submit

Make your submissions to

⭐ Apply Next: Sapiens Plurum 2021 Short Fiction Contest | Prize: $1800

Please do not pay or release sensitive financial details to any organizer, employer and/or recruiter unless futher verified from your end. ACEworld will not be responsibe for any scam/fraud. Please stay safe!

Is this article helpful? Kindly share below:


📩 Stay in the know with our Newsletter
Get latest opportunities on WhatsApp

About the Author: ACEworld Publishers

At ACEworld Publishers, we publish Latest Opportunities, Jobs & Free Online Courses. Join us on Twitter .

Got a question/Suggestion? Let's talk!