Meet the 20 Shortlist for the 2019 Miles Morland Writing Scholarships

According to the press release,

The Miles Morland Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2019 Morland Writing Scholarships.”We received nearly 700 entries this year, over 150 more than last year, with the standard going up alongside the numbers. It’s always a difficult task choosing the shortlist, but this year was particularly challenging. Although the list is decided on a combination of literary merit and the book proposal, we also, when deciding between submissions of equal merit, try to favour writers at an early stage in their careers over established writers. We are delighted established writers apply and we have given many scholarships to them but for them the bar is set a little higher.


“Miles Morland commented, “What a talented group of people on this year’s shortlist. I’m glad I don’t have to choose who gets the Scholarships. As I said last year, I can’t think of anywhere else in the world that could produce a shortlist with such energy and originality. My only disappointment is that I’d like to see more of the humour and wit for which countries like Nigeria are famous but apart from that the shortlist has everything, an astonishing variety.


The judges, with Muthoni Garland in the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Otosirieze Obi-Young, will meet on 21 November to select the 2019 Scholars. Their names will be announced shortly afterwards.


The 2019 shortlist is as follows:

NOW FREE: Get a copy of the Complete Nigerian Army Past Question and Answers now. (Complete answers and guide)

DISCLAIMER: Do not pay or release sensitive financial details to any organizer/recruiter unless futher verified from your end.
Siyanda Mohutsiwa – Botswana
Elinam Agbo – Ghana
Cheryl Ntumy – Ghana
Cherrie Kandie – Kenya
Parselelo Kantai – Kenya
Irene Ndiritu – Kenya
Gloria Odari – Kenya
Hawa Jande Golakai – Liberia
Eromo Egbejule – Nigeria
Nnamdi Oguike – Nigeria
Olalekan Olanrewaju – Nigeria
Toni Kan Onwordi – Nigeria
Adeola Salau – Nigeria
Zainub Dala – South Africa
Dela Gwala – South Africa
Mishka Hoosen – South Africa
Fred Khumalo – South Africa
Lindokuhle Nkosi – South Africa
Tsholofelo Wesi – South Africa
Farai Mudzingwa – Zimbabwe
For further information, mail
Easter Hunt Sale
Easter Sale
ACEworld Publishers

About the Author: ACEworld Publishers

At ACEworld Publishers, we publish Latest Opportunities, Jobs & Free Online Courses. Join us on Twitter .

Got a question/Suggestion? Let's talk!