Meet The 9 Shortlisted Poets for The Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature

Please check your E-mail inbox or spam to confirm.
The longlist for the sixth edition of the “Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature” has been released. This edition of the prize is for poetry and the list comprises nine poets. These successful poets were selected from 110 submissions from 11 countries on the continent, including Uganda, Kenya, South Africa, Nigeria and Rwanda.
The short-list of three will be announced at a press conference in Victoria Island, Lagos on November 21, 2018. While, the award ceremony, where the winner would be announced,would take place at the MUSON Centre, Onikan in Lagos on December 9 2018. The prize money of $10,000 and citation will be given to the eventual winner by the Nobel Laureate, Wole Soyinka.
A joint release by The Lumina Foundation and from its administrators of the Prize, Founding Director, Dr. Ogochockwu Promise and the Development Advisor, Mr. Ivor Agyeman-Duah, said,
The jury was chaired by the UK-based literary and Editorial Director, Margaret Busby OBE, chair emeritus of the Soroptimist International of Leeds, previously chair of the Caine Prize for African Writing and the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.
The other two were the renowned historian of the University of Texas at Austin: Professor Toyin Falola, author of the celebrated, /A Month Sweeter than Salt’ and the Lagos-based international literary scholar, Olu Obafemi, Professor of English and Dramatic Literature.
The long-listed writers and their works are:
• Dami Ajayi– Clinical Blues,
• Servio Gbadamosi – A Tributary in Servitude,
• Tanure Ojaide – Songs of Myself,
• Harriet Anena – A Nation in Labour,
• Iquo Eke – Symphony of Becoming,
• Hyinus Ekwuazi- One Day, I ‘ll Dare to Raise My Middle Finger at the Stark and the Reaper,
• Su’eddie Vershima Agema – Home Equals Holes- Tale of An Exile,
• Abayomi Animashaun – Sailing for Ithaca and
• Onesi Taiwo Dominic- Heaven on Earth- A Harvest of Poems.
Previous winners of the prize have included novelists Sefi Atta for ‘Everything Good Will Come,’ the South African Sifiso Mzobe for ‘Young Blood’ which won over another South African short-listed book the same year, ‘The Unseen Leopard’ by Bridget Pitt.
We say hearty congratulations to the selected poets and wish them good luck!
Easter Hunt Sale
Easter Sale
ACEworld Publishers

About the Author: ACEworld Publishers

At ACEworld Publishers, we publish Latest Opportunities, Jobs & Free Online Courses. Join us on Twitter .

Got a question/Suggestion? Let's talk!


🕛 Jan 31, 2023
American University Human Rights Essay Award 2023(Fully-funded to Washington D.C. USA)
in Awards & Prizes | for Professionals

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Apply: West Africa Civil Society Institute (WACSI) 2023 Next Generation Internship Program
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Africans

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Cheshire Prize for Literature 2022
in Awards & Prizes | for Writers & Poets

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Cudos Foundation 2023 Grant Program for African Entrepreneurs ( $5,000 to $250,000 USD)
in Grants & Fundings | for Africans

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Deloitte/One Young World 2023 Scholarship Program (Fully-funded)
in Scholarships | for Youths

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Dolors Alberola Poetry Prize 2023
in General Competitions | for Writers & Poets

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
EPSO Young Plant Scientist Award 2023
in Awards & Prizes | for Scientists

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
ICFJ/ONE 2023 Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling
in Awards & Prizes | for Journalists

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
NOUN Essay Competition On Open and Distance Learning (ODL) 2023
in Essay Contests & Prizes | for Nigerians

🕛 Jan 31, 2023
Singapore Management University (SMU) 2023 Steven Miller Scholarship for Undergraduates
in Scholarships | for Undergraduates

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12