UI researcher earns institute’s $1,000 PhD prize

Please check your E-mail inbox or spam to confirm.



A sociology professor, Dr. Kudus Oluwatoyin Adebayo, has become the pioneer winner of the Rahmon Bello Award for the best thesis in African and Diaspora Studies.


Adebayo’s PhD thesis entitled: “Migration and Settlement Experiences of Nigerians in  Guangzhou, China”, was adjudged the best of 29 entries submitted to the Institute of African and Diaspora Studies (IADS), University of Lagos (UNILAG), said organizers of the competition.

HEY THERE: Are you looking for a WhatsApp TV where you can find great memes, funny videos, and trending gists, even with several opportunities with cash prizes? Then look no further. LOP TV is here to bring to you this top-rated content. JOIN LOP TV now

He was allotted with a cheque of $1,000 at an award ceremony graced by the UNILAG Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, his predecessor and part-sponsor of the award, Prof. Rahmon Bello, and other principal officers, old and new, at the institute last Tuesday.

Dr. Ayodele Bello of the University of Lagos was first runner up for his work, “Stylistics of identity and ideology in alternative Yoruba music textuality”, while Dr. Nonzuzo Mbokazi of the University of Cape Town was named second runner up for her thesis titled: “Understanding child care choices among low-income employed mothers in urban and rural KwaZulu-Natal.”


Director of IADS, Prof. Muyiwa Falaiye said entries were delivered from all over Africa, including South Africa, Zimbabwe – with the majority coming from Nigerian universities.

“We received 29 theses which were assessed by three people.  We never knew we would receive these many theses.  We received these from South Africa, Cameroun, and very many universities in Nigeria,” he said.

Falaiye thanked the university management led by Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe for benefiting the institute’s quest to be a center of excellence for African research, adding that IADS had attracted grants of over one million dollars.

He also honored Bello for assisting the institute to get sponsorship for future editions of the prize.

Chairman of the Selection Committee, Distinguished Professor Ayodeji Olukoju said he and two other members of the committee, Prof Akin Akinyoade from Leiden University, The Netherlands, and Prof. Akin Iwilade of the University of Edinburgh, UK, were unanimous in their independent assessment of the top three winners.

Surprisingly, the top three candidates emerged by a unanimous decision. It was observed, however, that several candidates performed unevenly across the eight criteria adopted in the scoring.  In the end, the winners were those who performed evenly across those categories,” he said.

Reacting to his win, Adebayo confessed he was extremely happy that the award came from an indigenous institution, saying it was rare to be admired locally.

I am excited to receive this honor – particularly because this study was carried out locally. Ph.D. researchers work without recognition for their work,” he said.

Ogundipe announced that the university would continue to assist the institute to promote scholarly activities.


MASSIVE OFFER: Get your business seen by 8,000 people for just N1,000. How? See here!

Free Meta Business Management Course

DISCLAIMER: Do not pay or release sensitive financial details to any organizer/recruiter unless futher verified from your end.
Easter Hunt Sale
Easter Sale

About the Author: Cleopatra Adeoye

Mass Communication Student, Federal University, Oye Ekiti and Content Creation Specialist. Join me on Twitter.

Got a question/Suggestion? Let's talk!


🕛 Feb 08, 2023
Kaduna State Government Kashim Ibrahim Fellowship for Young Nigerians 2023 (Fully-funded)
in Fellowships | for Graduates

🕛 Feb 09, 2023
Apply: Concordia University 2023 Undergraduate Scholarships
in Scholarships | for Undergraduates

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
Daily Trust Foundation 2023 Undergraduate Scholarship Scheme For Nigerian Students
in Scholarships | for Nigerians

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
Green Spaces in the City: Flash Fiction and Poetry Competition 2023
in General Competitions | for Writers & Poets

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
LEAP Africa 2023 Youth Leadership Programme for Nigerian Students
in Trainings and Workshops | for Nigerians

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
PivotAfrica Fellowshp Program for Young Africans 2023(Cohort 5)
in Fellowships | for Africans

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
Spanish Government 2023 MAEC-AECID Scholarship for Developing Countries
in Masters Programs | for Post Graduates

🕛 Feb 10, 2023
SSRC-APN Individual Research Fellowships for African Countries 2023
in Fellowships | for Africans

🕛 Feb 12, 2023
BBC 2023 International Radio Playwriting Competition
in General Competitions | for Writers & Poets

🕛 Feb 12, 2023
Study in USA: Boise State University 2023 Undergraduate Global Excellence Scholarship
in Scholarships | for Undergraduates

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12