R-Bridge 2020 Microbiology Competition Winners Announced

Please check your E-mail inbox or spam to confirm.

Following weeks of the competition as published by ACEworld, winners have emerged in the 2020 R-Bridge Microbiology Essay Competition geared towards promoting microbiology as a profession in Nigeria.


A managing partner of R-Bridge, Dr Yinka Somorin, in a statement says the competition essay titled “How can Microbiology improve lives and livelihood in Nigeria?” was an opportunity for Microbiology students to share their ideas on practical ways microbiology can contribute to improving health and income-generating opportunities for Nigerians.

Somorin, a microbiology researcher and society champion of the Microbiology Society (UK), led Richard Omole, a microbiology researcher at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife and Dr Tosin Somorin, a lecturer at the University Strathclyde, UK to organize the event.

He explained that the essay submissions for the competition were received between July 1 and August 11, 2020, with 217 eligible entries from 64 universities across the 6 geopolitical zones of Nigeria.

He added that a panel of 25 academics, researchers and science communicators drawn from Nigeria, South Africa, United Kingdom, Portugal, Canada and Australia assessed entries based on originality, clarity, relevance and practicability of proposed ideas within the Nigerian context.

Somorin stated that some of the solutions proffered in the winning
essays included the starter culture and standardization of traditional fermented food production; development of green technologies for the management of pests and weeds to increase crop yield; management of waste and other environmental pollutants that could be converted to useful products, especially for the production of energy, which is a major burden in Nigeria.

The winners who were announced on August 28, 2020 are Isaac Ajayi, a 400 Level Microbiology student of Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti, won the first prize, Favour Olaiya, a 400 Level student of Microbiology at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, came second and the third prize went to Rahama Muhammad, a 300-level student at the University of Ilorin, Ilorin for the undergraduate category.

While the post graduate category has Victory Nnaemeka, an MSc student of microbiology at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka,. Lotachukwu Enukora, an MSc student of biotechnology at the Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna, and while Oluwatosin Orababa, an MSc student of microbiology of the University of Lagos, came first second and third place respectively.

The prizes include a certificate, tablet, one-year subscription to Microbiology Society UK, career mentorship by microbiologists in the diaspora among others.

NOW FREE: Telegram SuperGroup Sales Formula: How to use Telegram to Sell Digital Courses

DISCLAIMER: Do not pay or release sensitive financial details to any organizer/recruiter unless futher verified from your end.
Easter Hunt Sale
Easter Sale
ACEworld Publishers

About the Author: ACEworld Publishers

At ACEworld Publishers, we publish Latest Opportunities, Jobs & Free Online Courses. Join us on Twitter .

🕛 Sep 28, 2022
ECOWAS Graduate Internship Program 2022
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Africans

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
2022 CFI Naija in Lights Training for skills Program For Nigerians photojournalists
in Trainings and Workshops | for Journalists

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
2022 Commonwealth Professional Fellowships for Developing Countries
in Fellowships | for Professionals

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
2023 KAS/SAIIA Masters Scholarship for African Students
in Masters Programs | for Africans

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
African Union Summit Essay Contest 2022
in Essay Contests & Prizes | for Africans

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
Airtel Nigeria Leadership Program for Young Nigerian Graduates 2022
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Graduates

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
Allianz 2022 Climate Risk Award for Researchers (up to €7,000)
in Awards & Prizes | for Post Graduates

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
Andersen Nigeria Graduate Trainee Programme 2022
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Graduates

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
Apply: 2023 Sydney Scholars Awards for Undergraduate International Students
in Scholarships | for Undergraduates

🕛 Sep 30, 2022
British Council IELTS Prize 2022 (Win £3,000)
in Awards & Prizes | for Everyone

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12