Meet Chidubem Iweka, Denja Abdullahi, Guerrilla Post And 8 Others who made 2018 NLNG Longlist

Please check your E-mail inbox or spam to confirm.
Eleven plays made it to the long list for the $100,000 Nigeria Prize for Literature this year, announced on Thursday, 26th of July, 2018, sponsored by the Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Limited (NLNG).
The 2018 list of 11 plays, chosen from 89 entries, was selected by a panel of three judges, headed by Matthew Umukoro, a professor of Theatre Arts at the University of Ibadan (UI).
Other members of the panel are Mohammed Inuwa Umar-Buratai, professor of Theatre and Performing Arts and Dean, Faculty of Arts at the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria; and Ngozi Udengwu, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Theatre and Film Studies at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN).
The Professor Ayo Banjo-led Advisory Board appointed the Umukoro panel in February 2018 for the award, which had been administering the prize on behalf of the NLNG since 2010. The judges received entries for the 2018 prize in April, the guardian reports.
The list for this year’s prize include: “August Inmates” by Chidubem Iweka, “Death and The King’s Grey Hair” by Denja Abdullahi, “Embers” by Soji Cole, “Guerrilla Post” by Obari Gomba and “Majestic Revolt” by Peter E. Omoko.
Others are “Melancholia” by Dul Johnson, “No More the Taming Hawks” by Diran Ademiju-Bepo, “Once Upon an Elephant” by Bosede Ademilua-Afolayan, “Sankara” by Jude Idada, “The Rally” by Akanji Nasiru and Unstable by Dickson Ekhaguere.
A shortlist of three is expected in September, while the Advisory Board will announce a possible winner in October.
Besides Banjo, other members of the Advisory Board for the Literature Prize are Professor Jerry Agada, a former Minister of State for Education, former President, Association of Nigerian Authors; and Professor Emeritus, Ben Elugbe, former President of the Nigerian Academy of Letters and West African Linguistic Society (2004-2013).
The 2017 winner of the prize with his poetry book, “Heresiad” was Ikeogu Oke, while the 2016 Prize went to Abubakar Adam Ibrahim’s prose, “Season of Crimson Blossoms”.
Easter Hunt Sale
Easter Sale
ACEworld Publishers

About the Author: ACEworld Publishers

At ACEworld Publishers, we publish Latest Opportunities, Jobs & Free Online Courses. Join us on Twitter .

πŸ•› Jan 27, 2023
2023 IITA Coursera Scholarship For Young Nigerians
in Scholarships | for Nigerians

πŸ•› Jan 27, 2023
Green Growth Africa 2023 The EcoHeroes Initiative for African Students
in General Competitions | for Africans

πŸ•› Jan 27, 2023
Mercedes-Benz Graduate Development Program 2023
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Africans

πŸ•› Jan 27, 2023
SAWISE 2023 Angus Scholarship for Undergraduate Students
in Scholarships | for Girls & Women

πŸ•› Jan 27, 2023
Study in Japan: University of Tsukuba (PEP) Scholarships 2023/2024
in Post-Graduate Programs | for Graduates

πŸ•› Jan 29, 2023
Flourish Africa 2023 N1 Billion Grant for Female Entrepreneurs (Winners receive up to N2M funding each)
in Grants & Fundings | for Entrepreneurs

πŸ•› Jan 29, 2023
SME Growth Lab Africa 2023 Digital Accelerator Program For African SME
in Trainings and Workshops | for Entrepreneurs

πŸ•› Jan 30, 2023
2023 ACU Commonwealth Summer School for Talented University Students
in Scholarships | for Post Graduates

πŸ•› Jan 30, 2023
Apply: CERN 2023 Summer Student Internship Program
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Post Graduates

πŸ•› Jan 30, 2023
Dufil Prima Foods 2023 Graduate Trainee Programme for Young Nigerians
in Internships / Graduate Trainee Progs. | for Graduates

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12